Updates and Stuff

Updates and Stuff

Apr 18, 2014. | By: xanjos

Wow. I haven’t updated this blog in such a long while. A lot has happened since I made my last post and I’ve been busy with a lot of stuff, I’ve guess I’ve kind of neglected this blog. I’m not going to go into too much detail so I’ll be brief about what’s happened since then:

I’m currently working as a Mobile Games Programmer for a company called CodeExceptional. I’ve been with them for about a year now (I was originally hired as an intern) and I primarily work on Android and Windows Phone projects (and sometimes non-gaming mobile projects for those platforms as well). When I first started working here, I had no prior knowledge or experience with working on smartphone platforms so I literally had to learn everything on the job. One year later and whilst there are still some things I’m still unfamiliar with, I feel slightly more confident working on those platforms now.

On a somewhat related note, we’ve been mainly working on our first major smartphone game for the past six or months, a hybrid puzzle/trivia game called Smart Q45 where I primarily worked as the lead programmer for the Android and Windows Phone versions of the game. We’ve recently submitted our game to the Apple App Store and we are also preparing to submit to Google Play as well with Windows Phone Store following soon after (for those of you with Samsung devices, Amazon Kindle Fires or access to the Amazon App Store on their Android devices, the game is already out on Samsung Apps and on Amazon). For more information about the game, you can go to www.smartq45.com.

I’ve also been taking part in some game jams, namely Ludum Dare and Global Game Jam. I’ve done the April and December Ludum Dares last year (I missed the one on August because I was too busy and had no time to prepare) and somehow made two games out of it (despite my lack of artistic skill). You can click here to go to my Ludum Dare profile. I also attended the Global Game Jam that happened in January at my old university and whilst I did have some fun there, unfortunately my team wasn’t able to finish their game on time. Overall, I enjoyed doing these game jams and plan to take part in more whenever I have the time to do so (the next Ludum Dare is actually next week so I may take part) and to those of you who work in or is at least interested in working in the games industry (whether as a coder, artist, musician etc.) and been thinking of taking part in a game jam, I recommend that you take part in these as they’re lot of fun and you get to learn a lot of stuff plus the community are pretty friendly and don’t bite (mostly) based on experience.

Ok, that wasn’t actually brief at all. Anyway, I’m going to try and use this blog more even though I’m not that good with making long blog posts (maybe for documenting stuff that I’m learning in my free time) and I’ll update the rest of the blog in the next few days (namely links to the stuff I mentioned before in this post plus a couple more things).

Signing out

SHARE:

About

Jason Tuyen Games is a one man independent game studio based in London.

Privacy Policy

Social Links

Credits

This site was built using Jekyll.
The theme used here is a slightly modified version of Solid.